The Islands

St Mary’s: The Scilly’s largest island and gateway to the others, St Mary’s is more than likely to be your first port of call. Hugh Town is the central hub with its cluster of shops, cafes, galleries, restaurants and pubs.

Tresco: This sub-tropical gem is the only one of the islands to be privately owned. The island has a little bit of everything from dramatic rocky outcrops, bronze age burial sites and romantic castle ruins, to secluded sandy beaches and, of course, the internationally famous Tresco Abbey Garden.

Tresco Holidays

St Martin’s: Crystal clear waters, idyllic beaches and a prevailing sense of calm make St Martin’s pretty special. Along with the beaches, there’s a vineyard, a pub, and it’s an excellent place for wildlife experiences and watersports.

Bryher: The smallest of the inhabited islands, Bryher is known for its rocky coves, white sandy beaches and small granite hills. The island is criss-crossed by tracks and dotted with stalls selling fresh produce, while there’s also a number of eateries.

St Agnes: This tiny, peaceful island is the UK’s southernmost community and is home to a watersports centre, a handful or artists, Scilly’s only dairy farm, a pub and small church.

St Agnes

Uninhabited Islands: In addition to the above, the archipelago has another 140 or so more islands which provide a safe haven for wildlife and seabirds. Some are frequented by day boats, others never visited by man at all. Samson is the largest of the uninhabited islands and there are some truly stunning beaches to enjoy; St Helen’s is best known for the remains of a Pest House, an isolation hospital built in 1764 to quarantine plague cases from visiting ships; on Tean you can climb to the top of Great Hill for stunning views, while the Eastern Isles are a haven for seals and sea birds.

Travel Expert


Travel Expert

Call a Travel Expert
08444 937 531

Excellent array of hotels and self-catering options across Jersey and Guernsey. Also includes hotels in Alderney, Sark and Herm, plus the Isle of Wight, Isles of Scilly, Isle of Man and Shetland & Orkney Islands.